Main Street, Old Hurley
- A Treasure We Can Share?
stone houses built between the late 1600ís through
1818 stretch along the picturesque quarter mile of
Main Street. The
old Hurley Burial Ground is one of the oldest in Ulster
earliest stone is dated 1780. The Dutch Reformed
Church, built in 1853, sits at the curve in the road,
than a picture postcard. Another fifteen stone
houses lie within a three minute drive.
was the temporary capital of New York State after the burning
of Kingston in 1777.
House Day, the Corn and Craft Festival, the Heritage Society's
walking tours, two antique shops, a shop with garden crafts,
and the Ulster County Genealogical Society draw people to the
Challenges to Tourism
number of visitors to Main Street increases steadily. But,
today visitors face limited parking and heavy traffic. The
historic district zoning significantly limits the use of
the historic buildings and imposes unnecessary restrictions
those homes that donít have historic value.
would like to see the district become a significant tourist